Toxicology Society of Taiwan


       Toxicology Society of Taiwan (TSTA) was founded in 1985 by a group of toxicologists leading by The Toxicology Society of Taiwan (TSTA) was founded in 1985 by a group of toxicologists led by Academician Chen-Yuan Lee. TSTA was registered with the Ministry of the Interior in Taiwan on June 20, 1987, and Academician Lee became its first President. Successive presidents have included Academician Jen-Kun Lin, Professor Jou-Fang Deng, Professor Tzuu-Huei Ueng, Professor Tsung-Yun Liu, Professor Huei Lee, Professor Min-Liang Kuo, Professor Jaw- Jou Kang, Professor Jih-Heng Li, and the current president is Professor Ying-Jan Wang. 

        In 1997, TSTA became a member of the Asian Society of Toxicology (ASIATOX) and has actively participated in various ASIATOX activities, including organizing the 5th International Congress of ASIATOX at Taipei Veterans General Hospital from September 10-13, 2009. Based on the decision of the 2018 ASIATOX Council meeting, TSTA will again host  the 10th International Congress of ASIATOX (ASIATOX-X) in Taipei. TSTA also joined the International Union of Toxicology (IUTOX) in 1987 and regularly hosts the biennial Cross-strait Meetings between TSTA and the China Society of Toxicology.

      To comply with the international harmonization of the certification/registration of toxicologists worldwide, an effort led by IUTOX, TSTA established a board certification program for Diplomate of Certified Toxicologist (DTST) in 2014. As of 2023, nine experts have passed the exam and been awarded DTST. Hopefully, more toxicologists in Taiwan will become DTST certified.